English (ENGL)

From Beowulf to Toni Morrison, from eco-poetry to Hitchcock films, the texts and images that we read help us to find wisdom across cultures, communicate what we know, initiate change, and create the images and texts of the future.

To those ends, Bucknell’s English department offers three majors and accompanying minors: Creative Writing, Film/Media Studies, and Literary Studies. Students may also double-major or triple-major across programs in English, and in other fields.

In addition, English partners with the Stadler Center for Poetry & Literary Arts, the Campus Theatre, the Griot Institute for the Study of Black Lives & Cultures, the Film/Media Production Studio, and the Bucknell University Press, to provide a wide range of opportunities for students in its majors and courses.

Majors are well prepared for careers in publishing, film and media, journalism, law, management, and other fields. They are novelists, travel writers, literary agents, filmmakers, public relations professionals, doctors, and educators. They work in business, arts administration, digital humanities, publishing, advertising, human relations, across both for-profit and nonprofit sectors. They also are well prepared for graduate school and possess four of the top characteristics needed in successful careers everywhere: critical thinking, skillful communication, empathy, and creativity.


Professors: Raphael Dalleo (Film/Media Studies Director), Michael Drexler, Elena Machado Sáez, Ghislaine G. McDayter, Elisabeth Mermann-Jozwiak (Provost), Robert A. Rosenberg, Anthony F. Stewart (Chair, Literary Studies Director), G.C. Waldrep III, Virginia Zimmerman

Associate Professors: Christopher Camuto (Creative Writing Director), Eric S. Faden, Katarzyna Lecky, Chinelo I. Okparanta, Jean Peterson, Meenakshi Ponnuswami, Alfred K. Siewers

Assistant Professors: Jeremy Chow, Ken Eisenstein, Chase Gregory, K. A. Hays, Mai-Linh Hong, Joseph Scapellato, Chet'la Sebree

Visiting Assistant Professor: James Buck

Lecturers: Daniel A. Nienhuis, Philip Sewell

Academic Film Programmer/Lecturer: Rebecca Meyers

Video Production Specialist: Daniel A. Nienhuis